Lip Sync for Learning 2017

Clear your calendar - It's going down! You're invited to take part in the festivities. Come one, come all, bring a guest, and hang loose. This is going to be an epic night for public school education in Cedar Rapids!  Ten community leaders, school administrators, and all around good folk will compete to claim the title "2017 Lip Sync for Learning Grand Champion!"


When:   Friday, November 17, 2017
Time:    6pm Drinks & Appetizers -- 7pm Show
Where: CSPS Hall (1101  3rd Street SE)


6:00pm ARRIVE
Check in, get a program, take your 2 drink tickets and hit the bar. Grab some appetizers. Find a seat. Also, make sure to visit the photo booth!
7:00pm SHOW -- ROUND ONE
Be in your seats!  First 5 acts will bring their best lip sync challenge to the stage. Winner of Round One is chosen.
Stretch. Mingle. Get drinks & appetizers. Stop by the photo booth. Last chance to vote via donation for the People's Choice Award winner!
8:30pm SHOW -- ROUND TWO
The second set of 5 performers brings their lip sync best to the stage.  Winner of Round Two is chosen.  The 2 finalists perform in an epic lip sync showdown to crown the 2017 "Lip Sync for Learning" Grand Champion.  The People's Choice Award winner (based on the highest total of donations raised for Foundation programs) is also crowned.


Alisabeth Von Presley 

Locals know her & love her.  A rocker raised on a steady mix of Van Halen, Michael Jackson, and Madonna, this Iowa girl has left a memorable impact on stages from Los Angeles to New York -- with stops at "American Idol" and "Cabaret In The Courtyard" in between.  She's described as a "passionate performance roller-coaster tied up in pleather pants and sequin stilettos.”


Mark Taylor 
(MST Music Productions & DJ Services)

By day, a Student Support Liaison @ Johnson STEAM Academy … by night, a rockin’ DJ bringing the beats to events across Eastern Iowa.


Melissa Worley, Hy-Vee
Dave Blum, Hy-Vee
Kristy Staker, Hy-Vee

Katie Good, Hy-Vee
Gavin, Jaymie, Murphy & Lindsay McGrath, McGrath Family of Dealerships
WHS Class of 2001, 2004 & 2006
Dr. Brad Buck, Superintendent, Cedar Rapids Community School District

Scott Drzycimski, Alliant Energy, JHS Class of 1992, Foundation Chair

Linda Reysack, Principal, Harding Middle School
The National Czech & Slovak Museum & Library Team: Kaitlin Schlotfelt, Teddy Williams, Anna Dentlinger & Marissa Hedlund

John Laverty, President
CRCSD Board of Education
Nancy Humbles, Director, District 2
CRCSD Board of Education

Kristin Janssen, Director, At-Large
CRCSD Board of Education
Rafael Jacobo, Director, District 4
CRCSD Board of Education
Brucemore Team: David Janssen, Brett Lobello, David Morton, Katie Benedix, & Jessica Peel-Austin
Sarah Remerowski, Associate Principal & Autumn Pino, Principal 
Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy
Franklin Middle School Team: Ben Ethier, Sean Baylor, Lucas Ptacek, Kathy Dvorak
Justin Roberts, i-Heart Radio


Hall of Fame ($5,000)

Rock Star ($2,500)

Bar Sponsor ($1,500)

Photo Booth Sponsor ($1,000)

Rising Star ($1,000)

Bruce & Jennifer Borcherding

Venue Sponsor ($750)

Peter & Kristin Pardubsky

Opening Act ($500)


Casey & Emilie Hansen

Tech Sponsors ($250)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *