Lip Sync for Learning 2017 Event Recap

The 2nd Annual “Lip Sync for Learning” was an epic night for public school education in Cedar Rapids! Ten groups of community leaders, school administrators, and all around good folk competed to claim the title “2017 Lip Sync for Learning Grand Champion!”

Kudos to the Grand Champion: The Brucemore Team/"The Brucemorons" (photo below of their rendition of "Brick House" by the Commodores).


Alisabeth Von Presley 

Locals know her & love her.  A rocker raised on a steady mix of Van Halen, Michael Jackson, and Madonna, this Iowa girl has left a memorable impact on stages from Los Angeles to New York -- with stops at "American Idol" and "Cabaret In The Courtyard" in between.  She's described as a "passionate performance roller-coaster tied up in pleather pants and sequin stilettos.”


Mark Taylor 
(MST Music Productions & DJ Services)

By day, Mark is a Student Support Liaison at Johnson STEAM Academy … by night, he is a rockin’ DJ bringing the beats to events across Eastern Iowa.


Hyvee Team

Melissa Worley, Hy-Vee, 6th Street Drugstore

Katie Good, Hy-Vee, Mt. Vernon Road
Kristy Staker, Hy-Vee, Community Relations

Travis Pekny, Hy-Vee, Mt. Vernon Road

McGrath Family of Dealerships Team

Gavin, Jaymie & Murphy McGrath, McGrath Family of Dealerships
WHS Class of 2001, 2004 & 2006

Foundation Chair Team

Scott Drzycimski, Alliant Energy, JHS Class of 1992
Foundation Chair

Harding Middle School Team

Linda Reysack, Principal
Harding Middle School

National Czech and Slovak Museum Team

Kaitlin Schlotfelt, Teddy Williams, Anna Dentlinger & Marissa Hedlund
The National Czech and Slovak Museum & Library

Board of Education Team

John Laverty, President
CRCSD Board of Education

Kristin Janssen, Director, At-Large
CRCSD Board of Education
Nancy Humbles, Vice President
CRCSD Board of Education
Rafael Jacobo, Director, District 4
CRCSD Board of Education

Brucemore Team

David Janssen, Brett Lobello, David Morton, Katie Benedix, & Jessica Peel-Austin

Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy Team

Sarah Remerowski, Associate Principal & Autumn Pino, Principal 
Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy

Franklin Middle School Team

 Ben Ethier, Sean Baylor, Lucas Ptacek, & Kathy Dvorak
Franklin Middle School

iHeart Radio Team

Justin Roberts, iHeartRadio
JJ Cook, iHeartRadio


Hall of Fame ($5,000)

Rock Star ($2,500)

Bar Sponsor ($1,500)

Photo Booth Sponsor ($1,000)

Rising Star ($1,000)

Bruce & Jennifer Borcherding

Venue Sponsor ($750)

Peter & Kristin Pardubsky

Opening Act ($500)


Casey & Emilie Hansen

Tech Sponsors ($250)